Research Groups

Group Laman

The group has a longstanding research line on multiple sclerosis (MS) and its animal models (EAE) in rodents and non-human primates. Jon Laman is an immunologist working on chronic brain inflammation in ageing and in age-related disease of the central nervous system (CNS). In collaboration, we contribute to research lines assessing how immune responses affect cognitive and psychiatric disease, such as delirium. We study a selection of interrelated topics:

  • Roles of costimulatory/coinhibitory receptors such as CD40 and VISTA, notably on microglia, in MS progression and remyelination
  • Contribution of infectious pathogens and gut microbiota in MS progression and remyelination
  • Stress granules in microglia related to MS lesion activity and repair.

The group integrates work with colleagues in the Dept. Neuroscience, including Erik Boddeke, Bart Eggen, Iris Sommer, Andre Aleman, Branislava Curcic-Blake, and Bert ‘t Hart (also at the Biomedical Primate Research Center BPRC). At UMCG, we work with Prof. Sophia de Rooij on delirium in the elderly, and with Prof. Kathrin Thedieck on stress granules.

For infectious pathogens and gut microbiota, we collaborate with the LifeLines cohort study, the Dept. Genetics (Dr. Sasha Zhernakova, Prof. Cisca Wijmenga), and the Dept. Microbiology (Dr. Hermie Harmsen, Prof. Alex Friedrich).

Our MS research is integral part of the MS Center Noord Nederland (MSCNN), with MS neurologists Dr. Thea Heersema and Dr. Jan Meilof, and Dr. Wia Baron of the Dept. Cell Biology.

The group welcomes motivated students at different levels and different programs, clinicians in training, and PhD students. The high level of teaching and training we provide is evidenced by the subsequent career steps of our alumni in research, the clinic, and industry positions.

  • People
  • Alumni
  • Jon Laman PhD Visit

    Professor of Immune Physiology

    Research fields

    Microglia, Immune Physiology, epigenetics, multiple sclerose, central nervous system

    PhD student
    Malte Borggrewe Msc.
    Leroy Schreuder Msc.
    • Former laboratory members who have established independent groups and obtained associate or full professorships: Björn E. Clausen (Mainz), Rudi W. Hendriks, Bart C. Jacobs and Erik Lubberts (Rotterdam)
    • Former postdoctoral investigators (in reverse chronological order): Marvin van Luijn, Evert Verbraak and Leonie A. Boven
    • Former PhD students (in reverse chronological order): Mathilde Girard-Madoux, Karim K. Kreft, S. Anwar Jagessar, Rinze Neuteboom, Hessel van der Zee, Yolanda S. Kap, Fleur E. van der Geijn, Emöke Ràcz, Maarten G. Wolf, Marloes van Zwam, Ruth G. Huizinga, Marieke Emonts, Manon Oude Nijhuis, Carin P.W. Geleijns, Lizette Visser, Arjen R. Companjen, C. Wim Ang, Ingrid A. Schrijver and Catharina B.M. Maasssen

    Current career tracks of alumni: medical specialization (rheumatology, dermatology, medical microbiology, neurology, paediatric infectiology), laboratory specialization (clinical chemistry), pharmaceutical and biotech industry (research or management, Crucell, Merck Serono) and national (postdoc positions, associate and full professorships) and international academic research positions (full professorship, postdoc positions)

Share this:
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now